Waiting Families

Browse Our Families Looking to Adopt

Xchel & Chris in Texas Waiting Families

Xchel & Chris in Texas
RACE OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
Arabic, Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American, European, Eastern European/Slavic/Russian, Hispanic or South/Central American, Latino, Jewish, Mediterranean, Multi-Racial, Native American (American Indian), Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Asian
GENDER OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
No Preference
contact this family

Dear Birthmother,

We are Chris and Xchel (pronounced "É-shell"). We understand you are preparing to make one of the most important decisions of your life. We truly hope you feel supported and loved all the way through this process of choosing a family for your baby.

Our own journey, that has brought us here, has been a long one, but we are grateful to now be able to grow our family through adoption. We have struggled through 5 years of unexplained infertility and heartache. As you explore our profile and take a peek into our lives, we hope you feel a little of the warmth, joy and love that we are ready to shower upon a baby.

About Us

We met over ten years ago during Xchel's last semester of college. It was this chance encounter on a Friday night that started the next decade of our lives together. We share a passion for fixing up old homes and making them beautiful again. We are both bilingual in Spanish and wish to pass that on to our child.

Chris has a fun and outgoing personality, loves to host gatherings, DIY projects, exploring different kinds of music and cooking. Xchel was raised on a farm, loves nature and sunshine, enjoys hiking, reading, and podcasts.

We have two sweet Shar Pei dogs, Sky and Guero. They are older now, but they still love to be cuddled and go on walks. They are patient and gentle with babies and children.

Our Home

We live in a gated community that caters to families with young children. We have private access to highly rated elementary schools and community amenities like a pavilion, pool, playground and jungle gym. Our social committee plans group picnics and holiday gatherings. We are also within 10 miles of two state parks with lots of hiking trails.

We live in a big red-brick house on a quiet cul de sac. We have a green grassy backyard and enjoy sitting on our patio with our morning coffee, while the pups lay in the grass. Since we both work from home, we have a big home-office with quick access to the nursery, which we are in the process of creating. One of our favorite items in the nursery is the beautiful handmade quilt made by Aunt Jackie.

Our Extended Family

Xchel's childhood was filled with adventures, nature explorations and outdoor games. Her mom and half-sister still live in Washington State on the small farm where she grew up with horses, donkeys, goats & chickens. Xchel is very close to her grandmother, her aunt Jackie and her three cousins who live nearby. They meet up regularly for dinners, game-nights, birthdays, holidays and family vacations.

Chris’ mother and brother live close by. Unfortunately, his father passed away in 2010. As a young boy, Chris would vacation with his parents to Europe where his father was from. He is very close with his mother Rosa (aka Mama Parra), who spends a lot of time at their home helping with cooking, gardening and house projects. Mama Parra is wonderfully excited to welcome her first grandchild! Chris also has cousins that live a couple hours away and come to visit for celebrations and holidays.

Our Family Traditions

Thanksgiving is the holiday we host at our home for the entire family, we like to focus on the main courses and everyone brings a side dish, dessert or beverage as their contribution. Before eating we go around the table expressing what we are thankful for and what we will try to be better at.

Christmas is Chris’ favorite holiday and we go all out decorating for this one! We take turns with his mom and brother hosting Christmas dinner. Then for New Years we take a winter family vacation for a week full of skiing, sledding, snowball fights and board games by the warm fire. On New Years Eve, we take turns saying out loud the goals we plan to pursue in the new year.

Easter is Mama Chris' mom's favorite holiday and she hosts this day at her home. We arrive in time to help with the cooking and prepare for a day full of delicious food. We do an egg hunt with confetti eggs and also a few special eggs with money inside. Then there is the post-hunt cracking of the eggs and confetti in everyone’s hair.

We take a family vacation every summer, usually to a tropical beach destination. We rent a big house where the whole family can spend the week together. We pass the days playing on the beach and in the waves, snorkeling, sailing, eating lots of seafood and exploring the local village markets.

For Halloween, one of our good friends hosts an annual Halloween party with a dress up theme. We enjoy dressing up in costumes and heading over to his house, which is on a very popular trick-or-treating street. Everyone brings bags of candy and we spend the evening passing out candy and greeting all the little children with their adorable costumes.

What Led Us To Adoption

We tried to have a biological child of our own for over 5 years, but we struggled with unexplained infertility. We want more than anything to share our lives, our blessings and the love of our families with a baby. We are so grateful to have this opportunity to adopt and to spend the rest of our lives raising, loving and encouraging this beautiful little soul to chase their dreams in life!

Facts About Xchel

Occupation:
Real Estate Mentoring
Religion:
Spiritual
Education:
Bachelor's Degree
Favorite Food:
Pasta
Favorite Hobby:
Hiking
Favorite Movie:
Pride & Prejudice
Favorite Sport:
Horseback Riding
Favorite Holiday:
Christmas + Easter
Favorite Music Group:
Avicii + Death Cab for Cutie + Selena Gomez and More
Favorite TV Show:
How I Met Your Mother
Favorite Book:
Where the Crawdads Sing
Favorite Subject in School:
Science & Art
Favorite Vacation Spot:
Colorado & Riviera Maya

Facts About Chris

Occupation:
Building Automation Sales & Service
Religion:
Catholic
Education:
Pursuing Bachelor's Degree
Favorite Food:
BBQ
Favorite Hobby:
DIY Projects
Favorite Movie:
The Fast & The Furious Movies
Favorite Sport:
Basketball
Favorite Holiday:
Christmas
Favorite Music Group:
Johnny Cash
Favorite TV Show:
HGTV Shows
Favorite Book:
Rich Dad Poor Dad
Favorite Subject in School:
Art
Favorite Vacation Spot:
Spain + Bahamas
contact this family

I adopted our son as a newborn after going through 12 years of infertility. Now, 23 years later, I am director at Everlasting Adoptions. Shortly after adopting our son, I started to feel a calling towards adoption. My career as a Human Resource Manager in Corporate America came to an end, and I entered what I now know is my purpose and passion in life — building families through the miracle of adoption.

Working with birthmothers and adoptive parents throughout the US for over 20 years has allowed me to utilize the skills I have been blessed with to serve others. I come to work every day not as a staff member coming to a job from 9 to 5, but as a person who is extremely dedicated and devoted to helping people like you every single day. I feel very blessed to have found my purpose, and I look forward to helping you with your adoption needs!

Success Stories

Adam & Brooke
Adam & Brooke
Larry & Tonya
Larry & Tonya
165 120 img 42641
Andy & Peyton
165 120 image2 17
Christy & Adam
165 120 ba samantha jeremy
Samantha & Jeremy
165 120 pease 3
Jessica & Jonathan
165 120 winden ss
Amber & Jeremy
165 120 veronicacarlos
Veronica & Carlos
165 120 kirstenscott
Kirsten & Scott
165 120 juliemike
Julie & Mike

If you’re looking to adopt a baby in the USA, you're considering giving your baby up for adoption, we're here to help.

Or Call Us 7 Days a Week at 630-364-8361