Lindsey In Alabama

RACE OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
Asian, African American/Any Mixed Race, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Hispanic, Caucasian/Native American, African American/Hispanic and African American/Latino, European, Eastern European/Slavic/Russian, Hispanic or South/Central American, Latino, Jewish, Mediterranean, Native American (American Indian), Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Asian, Other
GENDER OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my profile. I appreciate you considering giving such a precious and valuable gift to me. I am truly grateful to you beyond words!

My name is Lindsey. I am 35 years old. I have wanted to be a mom for a long time, but it has not been possible since I have been single all of my life. A few years ago, I realized that the main reason I wanted to meet someone was just because I wanted to be a mom, and that is not a good enough reason to have a boyfriend or get married. I have been blessed with a wonderful mom, and I would love to have the opportunity to do the same for your child through adoption.

About Me

I grew up in Dothan, Alabama. In Kindergarten, I saw one of my friends holding their younger sibling and I went home crying to my mom and dad that I wanted to be a big sister too. I didn’t know at the time, but my mom was already pregnant with my little sister, Madison. I loved her so much and wanted to hold her all the time even though I was not much bigger than she was. I have always loved being around children and taking care of them. In high school, I was a shy person around my peers, but I was not shy around children. I did a lot of babysitting in my spare time. In 8th grade, I grew out of my shell and became a cheerleader. I also found my love for dance. I was involved in children’s church and helped lead the worship.

If had to describe myself to you in 3 words, I would say I am kind, dedicated and trustworthy. I treat everyone the way that I want to be treated. When I am given a task, I give it my all. I may not be the fastest at getting tasks accomplished, but I am very dedicated to doing the best that I can in any given task. Also, I am true to my word. I do not break promises. Trust is a very important thing to me.

During my free time, I enjoy relaxing at home and playing with Dobbie, my miniature Yorkie. One of the most recent projects I enjoy is Diamond Painting. For the past two years, I have enjoyed watching K-dramas, as well as Japanese and Chinese shows. Strangely, I prefer these shows to American TV shows with an exception to The Office, Parks and Recreation and Chrisley Knows Best. I would say Chrisley Knows Best is the show that I watch the most with my mom. We both love Nanny Faye! Aside from watching TV, I enjoy hanging out with my friends and family. One of my favorite places to visit is Disney World. I love all things Disney and the Minions, particularly baby Bob.

My job as an elementary school librarian will allow me to spend a lot of time with the baby. Also, when the child is school age, I can take her or him with me. One of the things I love about my job is reading to my students (PreK-6th grade). I use character voices and they love it. It would be such a joy to be able to read to my own child.

My Home

My house is in a subdivision in Troy, Alabama. It is a 3 bedroom and 2 bath house. I have a spacious, fenced-in backyard, which will be perfect for playing and adding a swing set. The future nursery currently has a daybed in it that I slept in after I was no longer in a crib. I also have a Winnie the Pooh stuffed animal ready for that special little boy or girl to sleep with when he/she is able to sleep in a bed.

The city of Troy, Alabama is home to Troy University. The University has live presentations performed by drama students, a museum and summer camps for kids (basketball, STEM, softball, drama, etc.). Troy Recreation Center is about 10 minutes from my house, which has a community park, swimming pool and walking trail. The Troy Square hosts fun, family-centered events during Halloween, Christmas and the Springtime (Troy Fest- arts and craft festival). Every year in the fall, Troy has a county fair and the town of Brundidge, which is about 20 minutes from my house, has a Peanut Butter Festival.

My Extended Family

My younger sister, Madison, is the owner of Wimberly Farms (named after my Papa). I love that my sister has a farm to continue Papa’s legacy. Whenever I go to visit, I must pet the goats, bunnies and the chicks. She is also a therapist and works with many children and their families. I intend to ask for her advice about things she has learned about raising kids. I already have a book she recommended for me to read, No Drama Discipline by Daniel J. Siegal.

My mom and dad, Pam and Jeff, are two of the most self-less people that I know. No matter what may be going on in their lives, they will immediately come to the aid of my sister and me (night or day). My Dad has always put others' interest before his own. My dad is one of kind. He played Barbies with me, helped me with my math homework, played basketball with my sister and took us both to birthday parties when my mom was busy. A lot of people say that my mom and I are just alike. I take that as a huge compliment. My mom and I talk every day. She encourages me when I have a rough day and rejoices with me when I have good days. When I was little, she took me to daycare every morning and picked me up. She also drove me to piano lessons in my preteens and cheerleading practice in my teen years. She supported me anytime I wanted to try something new. Both my mom and dad are committed to helping me keep the child at home for the first two years. They are overjoyed with the idea of being grandparents. I can think of no better people to be loving grandparents than my mom and dad.

My Family Traditions

My sister and I love going on family vacations. We went to Disney World and the Tennessee Mountains a lot during Christmas Holidays. I remember my dad telling me his famous “Knox Knox” jokes on the drive to Knoxville, Tennessee. He was doing everything he could to entertain my sister and me because every 15 minutes we would be asking, “Are we there yet?”

Thanksgiving and Christmas are always so much fun! When I was younger, my Papa and Nana would come over and we would eat a big lunch or dinner with them. During Christmas time, we would drive around to see the beautiful Christmas lights. When my Nana passed away, we continued the Thanksgiving and Christmas traditions with Papa. Since Papa passed away, we have spent Thanksgiving in Savanna, Georgia. At Christmas time, we either go to my parent’s house in Dothan, AL or my sister’s house in Covington, Georgia. Last Christmas we went to Stone Mountain, GA. The Christmas lights were so beautiful. My family continues to take family vacations each year not just at Thanksgiving and Christmas.

What Led Me To Adoption

I have been single all my life, but have always wanted to be a mother. I love being around children and believe I have lots of unconditional love to share. After weighing other options, I decided adoption is the best option for me.

Facts About Lindsey

Occupation:
Elementary School Librarian
Religion:
Non-denominational
Education:
Bachelors in Early Childhood Education & Masters in Library Media
Favorite Food:
Pizza
Favorite Hobby:
Diamond Painting
Favorite Movie:
The Despicable Me Series & Minions (baby Bob is my favorite!)
Favorite Sport:
Cheerleading & Dance
Favorite Holiday:
Christmas
Favorite Music Group:
Contemporary Gospel, Disney & K-Pop
Favorite TV Show:
The Office, Parks and Recreation & Chrisley Knows Best
Favorite Book:
Elephant and Piggie Series by Mo Willems & books by Roald Dahl
Favorite Subject in School:
Literature
Favorite Vacation Spot:
Walt Disney World
Contact
Lindsey