Esther In California

RACE OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
African American, African American/Any Mixed Race, Caucasian/African American, African American/Hispanic and African American/Latino, Multi-Racial
GENDER OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:
No Preference

Dear Birthmother,

Thank you so much for taking the time to get to know me. I acknowledge and respect the difficult and loving decision you have to make. I have always wanted to be a mother. I helped to raise my nephews. Unfortunately, motherhood did not happen for me via the natural way due to a diagnosis of infertility. I have made my peace with it and have accepted it. I am now open to start this new journey of motherhood through adoption. I promise to provide your child a family full of love and nurturing so he/she can grow to be what they are meant to be. I have attached a few photos and thoughts to help you to get to know me.

About Me

Hi, I'm Esther and I live in a beautiful and sunny part of southern California. I grew up in Kenya and was raised in a traditional, two parent home. I was raised Christian and as an adult I have also embraced Christianity. Every night before we went to bed, we prayed, meditated and read the bible. As a child, I didn't think much of this routine, but as an adult the lessons learned during this family time have carried me throughout my adult life. I find myself practicing the same ideals, especially when going through tough moments. Prayer and meditation help me to cope and keep me grounded.

I come from a large, African family and am the sixth of seven siblings. Many of my family members live nearby, while others live in Africa. Adoption is not new to my family. I have an adopted nephew. My maternal grandfather and paternal great grandfather were also adopted. Growing up my parents informally adopted and mentored relatives and children in our community who were less fortunate. My family and friends would describe me as loving, honest, nurturing and responsible.

I work in the healthcare industry and my core profession is in nursing. I am a believer in education and its ability to change lives. I continue to grow and learn and am currently in graduate school. I am committed to providing my child with a well- rounded opportunity to a good education. My job affords me financial stability and flexibility with a work from home schedule. I also have a network of extended family that will help me raise my child.

In my free time, I enjoy watching movies. My favorites are comedies, romcoms and some action/ drama. Two of my favorite movies are Ace Ventura and Home Alone. I like to take short day hikes in Los Angeles. We have plenty of nearby hiking trails. I also love to travel. I have traveled to South Africa, England, Israel and Athens. I plan to visit more European and African destinations, with particular interest in Egypt and Machu Picchu in the near future.

My Home

I have a 4 bedroom, 2 story house with one room for the nursery. I live in a diverse community outside of Los Angeles. My immediate neighbors are from all races; Caucasian, Middle East, African American, Indian and Asian. It is a family-oriented community. Most families have children less than 7 years old. I have a small yard, but we have several playgrounds and parks within 1-2 miles. We have highly rated public and private schools in the the neighborhood, as well.

My Extended Family

I helped raised my nephew with special needs as a single mom when he was ages 9-11 years old. He moved in with me due to some unavoidable circumstances with my sister. It was an honor and blessing to have been in his life at this crucial stage in his life. He brought so much joy and I loved being the mother figure in his life. I also frequently baby sat my other nephews and nieces when they were young, especially when they were babies and toddlers, whenever my sisters and brothers needed help.

My Family Traditions

One of my favorite family traditions, while growing up was the Christmas holiday. We always traveled to our country home and would have a big family lunch/dinner after Christmas church service. We all came together from different parts of the country. We would get together with my uncle, aunty, grandparents and cousins. We had fun and games! I have carried on this tradition and now host Christmas dinner at my place every year for all my family members who are living or visiting southern California.

What Led Me To Adoption

I have positive experiences with adoption. It is well accepted in my culture and family. I have always wanted to be a parent and love children. I want to give a child love and support so they can reach their potential.

Facts About Esther

Occupation:
Nurse Administrator
Religion:
Christian
Education:
Bachelor's Degree
Favorite Food:
African & Indian
Favorite Hobby:
Hiking
Favorite Movie:
Lion King
Favorite Sport:
Football aka Soccer
Favorite Holiday:
Christmas
Favorite Music Group:
Boyz II Men
Favorite TV Show:
Girlfriends
Favorite Book:
Americanah
Favorite Subject in School:
History
Favorite Vacation Spot:
Egypt
Contact
Esther